The Man Who Got Swallowed By A Hippo.

Standard

Read this feature article ‘I was swallowed by a hippo’

For paper 2 practice try to:

Summarise what happened to Paul after Evan was flung out of the boat.

For paper 3 practice:

Choose words and phrases and explain how the writer creates effects through these descriptions.

I reached over to grab his outstretched hand but as our fingers were about to touch, I was engulfed in darkness. There was no transition at all, no sense of approaching danger. It was as if I had suddenly gone blind and deaf.

I was aware that my legs were surrounded by water, but my top half was almost dry. I seemed to be trapped in something slimy. There was a terrible, sulphurous smell, like rotten eggs, and a tremendous pressure against my chest. My arms were trapped but I managed to free one hand and felt around – my palm passed through the wiry bristles of the hippo’s snout. It was only then that I realised I was underwater, trapped up to my waist in his mouth.

I wriggled as hard as I could, and in the few seconds for which he opened his jaws, I managed to escape. I swam towards Evans, but the hippo struck again, dragging me back under the surface. I’d never heard of a hippo attacking repeatedly like this, but he clearly wanted me dead.

3 responses »

  1. “Engulfed in darkness” signifies the writer could see absolutely nothing apart from darkness. He was literally swallowed in darkness.
    “no transition at all” signifies he hardly had any time to react to the attack, and escape. It was a swift move, with absolutely no noticed gap. The reader is also confused at this sudden move.
    The use of senses is employed in “terrible, sulphurous smell, like rotten eggs”. Each word in the series, emphasizes and describes the smell more detailed.This attracts the attention of the reader, and paints a picture.
    “the wiry bristles of the hippo’s snout” is another phrase that highlights the sense of touch. It enables reader to imagine how the hippo’s snout feels,channeling the writer’s feelings whilst stuck halfway in its mouth.
    The writer felt as if he suddenly became “blind and deaf” portrays his shock, and inability to make an immediate response to change in situation. A reader can experience this shock, and lack of self conscience to make a move.
    Please comment on this writer’s effect 😀
    Any help will be appreciated.

  2. give a sample answer also with the passage so that one can figure out how to writer as according to me everyone see this to see how to write

  3. kapila i think you have written a good answer keep it up. please teach me also how to write this thankyou.

Leave a Reply

